Prayers

Madurai widely known as The Temple City, is the place where I stayed during my bachelors  and I got a chance to visit the city two weeks back. One of the interesting feature of this city is its architecture. The city is built around the Famous Meenakshi Amman temple  and it appears like concentric rectangles when viewed from air. The thing I love about this city is that the people always respect others even strangers irrespective of  the age and it is always flooded with people all through the day(so they also call it as The Sleepless city). Having reached by 3.00 in the morning, I decided to visit the  Meenakshi Amman temple at 7.00.

I’m sharing the bestof the lot… 😀

The tradition

Friday is considered as the auspicious day in the week for Hindus. Women go to their near by temple and lite these small earthern lamps  and pray.

Another form of lamp used in the temples

I’m Coming– running towards his mom, they were performing form some rites there with the priests.

Art-Doors with idols carved on them

 

Prayers- Lemon is one of the sacred fruit offered to the god

Thulabaram-Weight balance

When their wishes comes true,  sometimes they offer something(Fruits, clothes, rice, silver,gold ) that they can afford equal to their weight or the weight of the youngest person in their family.

Roses

Deep Inside

A scaled version of the temple and my reflection on the glass.

Lamps used in home during auspicious occasions

Prayer-Here I give

Elephant is considered the other form of the deity Vinayaka and people bow under him,  he’ll (Elephant) place the tip of his trunk over their head, wishing them.

Hope you enjoyed it 😀

38 thoughts on “Prayers

  1. Great job capturing the feeling of this place! My favorite is the photo of the man and elephant! I love how the man is sort of cut off the frame, and the elephant fills the rest. It really shows his incredible size and majesty. I can see why people would honor an animal like that!

    • Thanks Labrancaro 😀
      Actually this one was candid, I thought of taking another shot in front of the elephant, but once this guy saw me he waved his hands …. refusing to pose for the shot

  2. These are some pretty nice shots. Lovely collection you got there.
    May be during my next trip I should pay a visit to the temple.

    I am a bit surprised that they allow photography inside the temple…

  3. I imagine one of the most difficult things to capture in photos is sacredness. Yet you have done just that with these amazing images. I felt so at peace and connected with the people in these photos.

    Wonderful, wonderful work. Thanks for brining them to us.

Leave a Reply

